Sheriff's Entrance


The Sheriff is an elected Wright County official who serves a four-year term.

The Wright County Sheriff and Deputies are the county’s principal enforcement officers for the unincorporated areas of Belmond, Clarion, Eagle Grove, Galt, Holmes, Rowan and Woolstock.   By contract, the Sheriff’s Office provides law enforcement to the cities of Rowan & Dows.    

The officers patrol nearly 540 square miles and serve approximately 15,000 citizens.

Duties of the office include, but are not limited to, the following:
          - Investigation and report of accidents, theft, vandalism, assault, illegal drug activity, reported child and/or domestic abuse and enforcement of traffic laws.

       - Duties related to the civil process, including, but not limited to, original notices and petitions, garnishment, sheriff sales, protective and restraining orders, involuntary commitment of persons with mental illness and / or substance abuse and other legal processes issued by lawful authority. 

Mission Statement
By empowering our employees to participate in a leadership role within the county, we make great efforts to gain the support and trust of those we serve.  We strive to provide quality service and protection to the residents of Wright County.